summer conference graphic

Use the link below to register for our Summer Conference!

Conference Location:

Lodging: Doubletree Hotel
Click here to reserve your hotel room today or give the following number a call 501-525-1391.

Conference Agenda:
(Click here for printable pdf)

SUNDAY, JULY 07 (Doubletree Hotel) 

  • 3:00-6:00pm Vendor Set-up 

  • 6:00pm AREA Board Meeting (Dinner SG360 /OPA) 

  • 6:00-9:00pm Hospitality- Sponsored by Phoenix Contractors (Lobby Bar) 

MONDAY, JULY 08 (Lakeside Junior High School) 

  • 7:00-8:00am Registration 

  • 7:45-8:15am CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, Sponsored by Architecture Plus

  • 8:15-8:30am WELCOME, President Jon Laffoon & Dennis Copeland

  • 8:30-9:00am NREA DIRECTOR UPDATE Dr. Allen Pratt 

  • 9:05-9:35am AAEA Dr. Mike Hernandez 

  • 9:40-10:10am Bruce Cozart & Brian Evans– Legislative Update 

  • 10:10-10:30am BREAK - VISIT VENDORS! Sponsored by Architecture Plus

  • 10:30-11:00am ATRS Director- Mark White 

  • 11:00-11:45am DESE Secretary Jacob Oliva 

  • 1:00pm 2024 GOLF TOURNAMENT- Sponsored by George Foshee, American Bus Sales and American Fidelity 

  • 1:00pm Bowling Tournament American Fidelity 

  • 5:30-9:30pm Hospitality - Sponsored by American Fidelity & Nabholz 

TUESDAY JULY 09 (Lakeside Junior High School) 

  • 8:00-8:30am CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, sponsored by Architecture Plus

  • 8:30-9:00am APSRC Executive Director Scott Smith 

  • 9:00-9:30am ASBA- Dr. Tony Prothro & Shannon Moore 

  • 9:30-10:00am AAA - Lance Taylor 

  • 10:00-10:20am Break and Visit Vendors Sponsored by Architecture Plus 

  • 10:20-10:50am Breakout Session 1: KLC Video & Security, American Fidelity, Phoenix Contractors, Smart Data Dashboard 

  • 10:55-11:25am Breakout Session 2: Trane Education, Baldwin & Shell, Karen Kilroy- AI 

  • 11:30-12:00 Scholarships & Awards: 

    • Employee Child: 

      • Emilee Lyons, Emerson-Taylor-Bradley KateLynn Bogle, Valley Springs

    • Graduating Senior: 

      • Taryn Presson-Greenwood-South, Logan Westbrook- Southside-North

    • Vocational: 

      • Luke Wewer-Scranton-South, Landrey King-Farmington-North

    • Paraprofessionals: 

      • Jamie Grogan- Mena -South, Derek Spack- Clinton-North 

    • Teachers of the Year:

      • Presenter: Rob Roedel/ Electric Coops of Arkansas - Bethany Brantley-Cossatot River-South, Andrea Murray -Pocahontas -North 

    • Superintendents of the Year: 

      • Presenter: Jon Laffoon/ Stephens Inc. - Jason Sanders-DeQueen School District

      • Presenter: Jon Laffoon/ EBI - Dr. Andrea Martin- Greenland School District 

  • DIRTY SANTA Drawing- Sponsored by Beardsley and Associates 



WEDNESDAY, JULY 10 (Lakeside Junior High School) 

  • 7:45-8:15am CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST Sponsored by Architecture Plus 

  • 8:15-8:30am RECOGNITION OF PLATINUM MEMBERS - American Fidelity, Apptegy, 

    Architecture Plus, Baldwin & Shell Construction, First Security,

    Beardsley, Energy Systems Group (ESG), KLC Video Security, Lifetouch, Phoenix Contractors, Stephens Inc., Solution Tree

  • 8:30-9:00am Phil Blaylock-Visitor Protocol & Weapon Detection

  •  9:00-9:30am Jo Ann Womack- Meeting the Community Service Requirement

  • 9:30-9:50am BREAK - VISIT VENDORS! Sponsored by Architecture Plus

  • 9:50-10:20am Kurt Banta & Jon Laffoon- Starting a CCSO Program 

  • 10:20-10:50am Cody Kees– Legal Issues Schools Face 

  • 10:50-11:20am CJ Huff– Bright Futures 

  • 11:20-12:00pm Door Prizes, Wrap up & Drawings from Vendors